Congressional Medal of Honor: History and Recipients, 1979-2013


Jonah T. Geary (Editor)
Jeffrey Hanson (Editor)

Series: Military and Veteran Issues
BISAC: HIS027000

The Medal of Honor (MoH) is the highest award for bravery that can be given to any individual in the United States of America. Conceived in the early 1860’s and first presented in 1863, the medal has a colorful and inspiring history which has culminated in the standards applied today for awarding this respected honor. In their provisions for judging whether a man is entitled to the Medal of Honor, each of the armed services has set up regulations which permit no margin of doubt or error. The deed of the person must be proved by incontestable evidence of at least two eyewitnesses; it must be so outstanding that it clearly distinguishes his gallantry beyond the call of duty from lesser forms of bravery; it must involve the risk of his life; and it must be the type of deed which, if he had not done it, would not subject him to any justified criticism.

A recommendation for the Army or Air Force Medal must be made within 2 years from the date of the deed upon which it depends. Award of the medal must be made within 3 years after the date of the deed. The recommendation for a Navy Medal of Honor must be made within 3 years and awarded within 5 years. This book describes the history of the MoH and the criteria and rules used in awarding the medal; the benefits that are made available to Medal of Honor recipients; and the process involved in reconsidering an individual for receipt of the medal. (Imprint: Novinka )

Table of Contents

Table of Contents


Medal of Honor: History and Issues
(David F. Burrelli, CRS)

Medal of Honor Recipients: 1979-2013
(Anne Leland, CRS)


Publish with Nova Science Publishers

We publish over 800 titles annually by leading researchers from around the world. Submit a Book Proposal Now!