Beacon Lights of History. Volume XIV: The New Era


John Lord, LLD

Series: Historical Figures

Beacon Lights of History is a 14-volume set first published in 1902. This collection of John Lord’s lectures spans 6,000 years of European and American history. The first 12 volumes are all Lord’s work; the 13th was completed from his notes and the 14th is follow-ups by other authors.
(Imprint: SNOVA)

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Chapter 1. Richard Wagner: Modern Music
By Henry T. Finck
Chapter 2. John Ruskin: Modern Art
By G. Mercer Adam
Chapter 3. Herbert Spencer: The Evolutionary Philosophy
By Mayo W. Hazeltine
Chapter 4. Charles Darwin: His Place in Modern Science
By Mayo W. Hazeltine
Chapter 5. John Ericsson: Navies of War and Commerce
By Prof. W. F. Dukand
Chapter 6. Li Hung Chang: The Far East
By W.A.P. Martin, D.D., LL.D.
Chapter 7. David Livingstone: African Development
By Cyrus C. Adams
Chapter 8. Sir Austen Henry Layard: Modern Archaeology
By William Hayes Ward, D.D., LL.D
Chapter 9. Michael Faraday: Electricity and Magnetism
By Edwin J. Houston, PH.D.
Chapter 10. Rudolf Virchow: Medicine and Surgery
By Frank P. Foster, M.D.

Publish with Nova Science Publishers

We publish over 800 titles annually by leading researchers from around the world. Submit a Book Proposal Now!